I ate Big Bird

The last time I was in Desaru was nearly 20 years ago. My mum and dad used to take us as  kids, and for some reason in my memory it’s always been etched as a grey, desolate beach somewhere in the dreary state of Johor, Malaysia.

On Saturday, on an impulse, I instead went back to what I discovered to be the perfect getaway – a mere 2 hour drive from Singapore takes you to a completely empty beach that stretches for several kilometers. The sand and water were clean, and the waves, strong. Mind you, red flags were up — the undercurrents were particularly strong due to the monsoon, but a couple of dips in the water proved no harm. I spent most of the afternoon though, lying on the sand, reading my book and enjoying the breeze, the silence. The air was cool, the sun felt good, the waves crashed beautifully. For most of the day, we were the only ones around for at least a kilometer of sand.

Why didn’t I come here sooner?
Why has noone ever recommended this?

With Singapore’s dearth of a decent beach anywhere, I’m shocked more people aren’t flocking to Desaru. Although to be honest, I hope noone takes me seriously, I’d like my beach to remain mine – and empty.

We ended the day having dinner at a local ostrich farm located about 20km from the beach. What do you eat at an Ostrich farm? Well, ostrich. In every form and manner.

Ostrich Steak with lobster

Ostrich Burger
Ostrich Satay
Although ostrich is a bird, its meat is curiously red, rather than white. The texture and taste is of beef, yet it is way healthier, leaner and with less saturated fat than even chicken! Good alternative for those trying to lose weight or be healthier, but can’t bear to give up their read meat. Even though Ostrich meat tastes like beef, the Ostrich does not have fat marbling in the meat like beef. Ostriches have fat, but it collects outside the muscles and is easily removed during processing. Most all of the meat from an Ostrich comes from the leg, thigh, and back. An Ostrich has no breast meat like the chicken and turkey (Thank you wikipedia!)

This big bird is definitely featuring in one of my communes…..I’m thinking ostrich seekh kebabs?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I ate Big Bird

  1. Juls says:

    Oh wow, I didn’t realise Desaru is still so pretty. Must go up there next time we visit.

Leave a Reply

